Spice Rack Basics

I recently stopped using salt in my cooking to flavor my food, and started using more fresh and dried herbs and spices. The flavor combinations that you can create are amazing and the health benefits of cutting back on the amount of sodium in your diet is just a plus.

A lot of the recipes I have and will be posting will have a lot of herbs and spices in them, and instead of listing all of them on the weekly meal prep posts on your shopping list, I want to create a list of spices and herbs that you should always have on hand in your cupboard. The follow list is exactly what I always keep a close inventory on.

Basic Herbs and Spices List:

  • Bay leaves
  • Dried Basil
  • Black Pepper
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Cinnamon (ground)
  • Chili Powder
  • Ground cloves
  • Ground coriander
  • Cumin
  • Curry Powder
  • ginger
  • Salt (I use pink Himalayan salt)
  • Nutmeg
  • Oregano
  • Paprika
  • Parsley leaves
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Herbs de Provenance Blend
  • Italian Seasoning Blend
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • all spice
  • pumpkin spice
  • vanilla extract

My favorites to have fresh:

  • cilantro
  • parsley
  • basil
  • rosemary
  • thyme
  • mint
  • dill
  • sage
  • chives

Addition Items I always Have:

  • soy sauce (low sodium/gluten free)
  • Dijon mustard
  • nutritional yeast
  • chia seeds
  • olive oil
  • all types of vinegar
  • pure maple syrup (sugar free if you like)
  • Sriracha chili sauce
  • hot sauce

This is of course is not a perfect list, but if you are someone who is used to eating out as a main source of your food, this list will be a great basic start for you to have in you kitchen. Happy cooking!

Dani

Leave a comment